Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs

Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs

Family, Friendships, and Faith in Small-town Alaska

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
The Alaskan landscape--so vast, dramatic, and unbelievable--may be the reason the people in Haines, Alaska (population 2,400), so often discuss the meaning of life. Heather Lende thinks it helps make life mean more. Since her bestselling first book, If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name , a near-fatal bicycle accident has given Lende a few more reasons to consider matters both spiritual and temporal. Her idea of spirituality is rooted in community, and here she explores faith and forgiveness, loss and devotion--as well as raising totem poles, canning salmon, and other distinctly Alaskan adventures. Lende's irrepressible spirit, her wry humor, and her commitment to living a life on the edge of the world resonate on every page. Like her own mother's last wish-- take good care of the garden and dogs --Lende's writing, so honest and unadorned, deepens our understanding of what links all humanity.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, N.C. : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781565125681
1565125681
Branch Call Number: BIO LENDA H. Lende 05/2010
Characteristics: 304 p. ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
JCLHelenH Apr 11, 2017

In the vein of Anne Lamott, Lende shares the blessings and challenges of living in small-town Alaska.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLHelenH Apr 11, 2017

In the vein of Anne Lamott, Lende shares the blessings and challenges of living in small-town Alaska.

Summary

Add a Summary
KRISTA HUNTER Mar 02, 2018

Living in the small town of Haines, Alaska, Heather Lende has carved out a most unusual career for herself: obituary writer and social columnist for the hometown newspaper. Lende has chronicled her life in several volumes, all charming and insightful, but in Take good Care of the Garden and the Dogs, her near fatal bicycle accident turns the tables and she's forced to confront her own mortality. Heather Lende's spiritual upbringing and her shy nature make her the perfect investigator of life and death issues in the microcosm of Haines.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top