Chosen

Chosen

A Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

"Gritty and suspenseful, Chosen draws us into the obstacle-strewn path of domestic adoption."
--Juliette Fay, author of Shelter Me

A young caseworker increasingly entangled in the lives of adoptive and birth parents faces life-altering choices when an extortion attempt goes horribly wrong in Chosen. Written in the spirit of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, Chosen is an extraordinary debut novel from Chandra Hoffman that deals with the controversial subject of adoption while providing a riveting read that will equally ensnare lovers of suspense, domestic drama, and literary fiction.

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, c2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780061974298
0061974293
Branch Call Number: FICTION Hoffman Chandra 08/2010
Characteristics: 306 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
JCLHelenH Feb 06, 2011

Fans of Picoult and Bohjalian might enjoy this story of an adoption case worker who gets too close to the families she's working with. This would be a great book discussion title, as it raises many questions about adoption processes for which there are no right answers.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
johnsonpl
Jul 22, 2012

I didn't enjoy this book but finished it nonetheless. From the author's notes, I understand that she was trying to write a book in shades of gray about adoption and both the birth and adoptive parents. I don't think she succeeded.
I didn't like the characters so it was hard to feel invested in them, or feel that their actions were realistic.
I was particularly annoyed by a major choice made by the main character at the end of the book as it seemed ridiculous given all that had come before.

JCLHelenH Feb 06, 2011

Fans of Picoult and Bohjalian might enjoy this story of an adoption case worker who gets too close to the families she's working with. This would be a great book discussion title, as it raises many questions about adoption processes for which there are no right answers.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top