Breed

Breed

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
12
2
Rate this:
Critically celebrated novelist Scott Spencer delivers a Rosemary's Baby-like novel of gothic horror, set against the backdrop of modern-day Upper East Side Manhattan.
Alex and Leslie Twisden lead charmed lives-fabulous jobs, a luxurious town house on Manhattan's Upper East Side, a passionate marriage. What they don't have is a child, and as they try one infertility treatment after the next, yearning turns into obsession. As a last-ditch attempt to make their dream of parenthood come true, Alex and Leslie travel deep into Slovenia, where they submit to a painful and terrifying procedure that finally gives them what they so fervently desire . . . but with awful consequences.

Ten years later, cosseted and adored but living in a house of secrets, the twins Adam and Alice find themselves locked into their rooms every night, with sounds coming from their parents' bedroom getting progressively louder, more violent, and more disturbing.

Driven to a desperate search for answers, Adam and Alice set out on a quest to learn the true nature of the man and woman who raised them. Their discovery will upend everything they thought they knew about their parents and will reveal a threat so horrible that it must be escaped, at any cost.
Publisher: New York : Mulholland Books, 2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780316198561
0316198560
Branch Call Number: FICTION Novak Chase 08/2012
Characteristics: 310 p. ;,25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
scifiandscary
Jan 12, 2016

Breed is one of the more unique horror stories I’ve read. Generally, when someone goes the pregnancy bent, they tend to focus on the child being possessed or some such. Chase Novak, AKA Scott Spencer, makes it clear almost immediately that that is not the direction he’s choosing to take.

Instead, he plays upon society’s fears of genetic manipulation and the possible consequences associated with it, and proceeds to send the readers spiraling through a story with morbid fascination and disgust. The one truly horrifying aspect of it is more psychological than anything else.The rest of the reactions he draws from the reader are mild-to-moderate at best.

An interesting premise, Breed had the possibility to really stand out and be a story you’d remember for ages. Unfortunately, the writing just isn’t strong/interesting enough to pull it off, and you find yourself never really getting connecting with the characters you’re supposed to root for.

s
SalisburySally
Jun 15, 2015

This was an awesomely disturbing read. I was completly shocked but in a good way. If you are looking for some good horror that is out of the usual predictable stuff pick this up! It will have you reading long into the night and the ideas will haunt you long after. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys something that'll give you the creeps.

s
santiano9
Apr 08, 2015

A good read despite the gore.

j
JimmyGman
Sep 06, 2013

Intriguing premise, not your usual horror story. Great characters, great back drops, good ending. Fast read.

bongodrumms Jun 26, 2013

I loved this book from start to finish. A really interesting story and, at some times, can be disturbing. One of those books you don't want to put down.

mrmervis Feb 27, 2013

Quick and enjoyable read. Felt like a blend of Cook and King.

k
kelliyfults
Feb 22, 2013

gore-y, funny, wicked fun! Suspend your medical-possibilities-critic and it's quite enjoyable. I've often wondered about roving packs of 14 year-old skateboarders...

l
lovely1012
Jan 31, 2013

I read this whole book in 10 hours...just couldn't put it down and wondered how it was going to end. Great, fast read.

BPLNextBestAdults Jan 17, 2013

Well-to-do Alex and Leslie Twisden met in front of his four-story Manhattan townhouse which had been in his family for decades. Anxious to produce an heir, yet inexplicably infertile, the Twisdens head to Slovenia for a “fertility enhancement” treatment. The excitement regarding their pregnancy is eclipsed by the animalistic side-effects experienced by both. Fast forward ten years… that same brownstone is now hiding Alex and Leslie’s secret. Their twins, Adam and Alice, fear for their lives and run away. What exactly goes on behind their parents’ door?
Spencer’s creepy debut novel writing as Novak elevates the subject of infertility treatments. The concept of this story, while not original, tells of the disturbing nature of human experimentation in medicine. At times disjointed, this gruesome story loses its’ fast pace when telling the twins’ story. It should, however, appeal to fans of Justin Evans’ A Good and Happy Child, Bentley Little’s His Father’s Son and Stephen King.
Little Red Riding Hood meets Flowers in the Attic!

s
sunny101877
Dec 17, 2012

I really enjoyed this book but it is a bit weird. The part about them getting hairy grossed me out a bit.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top