All Our Pretty Songs

All Our Pretty Songs

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
4
2
1
Rate this:
In the Pacific Northwest, the bond between two best friends is challenged when a mysterious and gifted musician comes between them and awakens an ancient evil.
Publisher: New York :, St. Martin's Griffin,, 2013.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250040886
1250040884
9781250027085
125002708X
Branch Call Number: YA FICTION McCarry Sarah 07/2013
Characteristics: 234 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
JCLChrisK Jul 15, 2016

Lush. Poetic. Dreamy. Overflowing with evocative imagery and description. Goth. Romantic. Drug-addled. Otherworldly.

The narrator and Aurora, her best-friend-basically-sister, have always floated through life surrounded by artists, drifting from one hazy party experience to the next. Their mot... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_TEENBOARD Jul 17, 2017

This is a gorgeous retelling of the Orpheus myth. McCarry's prose is enchanting giving a dreamy quality to the events of the story. The narrator's love interest is a charismatic musician. The core of the book though is the deep friendship between the unnamed narrator and her friend Aurora. The two are fiercely devoted to each other which gives the story a further air of tragedy.

clairelegrand Jan 11, 2017

A gorgeously written book about girl friendships, love, sacrifice, volatile family relationships, and music, woven through with myth, magic, and monsters. A spooky, gothic tale that references the story of Persephone and will weave a spell over you. For fans of Laini Taylor and Francesca Lia Block. The first in a trilogy, but can be read alone.

JCLChrisK Jul 15, 2016

Lush. Poetic. Dreamy. Overflowing with evocative imagery and description. Goth. Romantic. Drug-addled. Otherworldly.

The narrator and Aurora, her best-friend-basically-sister, have always floated through life surrounded by artists, drifting from one hazy party experience to the next. Their mothers were best friends who did the same, and Aurora's dad made a fortune as a rock star before dying young from drugs. Aurora's mom never escaped the lifestyle, and the two are only alive because the narrator's mom did get clean. Now they run wild and free, Aurora a brightly-shining, charismatic, carefree center of attention, and her best friend the one who always rescues her from trouble.

This is the story of their drifting descent into . . . something. Maybe an addiction to the artistic lifestyle, maybe an addiction to drugs, maybe an addiction to a dark, magical, fairy realm underworld. They all look pretty much the same to the narrator's eyes, as her reality is a blur of evocative imagery and description. Accompanying the two on their journey is the musician Jack, whom she falls in love with and who shares their addictions. This is a story of romantic and sisterly love that follows in the footsteps of Orpheus.

The plot is as languid as their lives, yet the narrative is one of passion.

n
noora10
Jun 30, 2013

How I hated this...
Don't be fooled by the title.... That is all I have to say.

Notices

Add Notices

n
noora10
Jun 30, 2013

Coarse Language: Almost on every page.

n
noora10
Jun 30, 2013

Sexual Content: Not even going to talk about it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

n
noora10
Jun 30, 2013

noora10 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top