Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Chad Thomas Johnston's Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood. Adapted from Johnston's blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too. In essays such as "My Wife, the Black Hole," "Hearts and Jumper Cables," "Knives and Wives," "Honeymoonwalking (to Jail)," and "Blessed Are the Tentmakers," Johnston weaves stories on his literary loom that are equal parts luminous and lunatic.

Writing as only a minister's son with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder can, Johnston has crafted an observational ode to both the blunders and wonders of wedlock, and his writing is punctuated accordingly with absurd alliteration, appalling puns, and madcap metaphors. Nightmarriage is a must-read for fans of David Sedaris, Robert Fulghum, and Anne Lamott.

While Johnston created the cover art himself, the interior of the book features original work by artists BARRR, Dan Billen, Ben Chlapek, Megan Frauenhoffer, Danny Joe Gibson, Mark Montgomery, and Darin M. White. The appendices of the book also include Twitter stream excerpts, recipes, artist information, and other miscellany from the world of Chad Thomas Johnston.
Publisher: Little Elm, TX : eLectio Publishing, c2013.
ISBN: 9780615825557
Branch Call Number: 817.6 Johnston 09/2013
Characteristics: 203 p. :,ill. ;,23 cm.
Alternative Title: Night marriage


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at My Library

To Top