Night Heron

Night Heron

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Former British spy Peanut reaches out to his one-time MI6 paymasters via crusading journalist Philip Mangan, offering military secrets in return for extraction from Beijing.
Publisher: New York, NY :, Redhook,, 2014.
Edition: First US Edition.
ISBN: 9780316399838
0316399833
Branch Call Number: FICTION Brookes Adam 05/2014
Characteristics: 387 pages ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
i
iangal
Jan 18, 2020

This was an exceptional read - very tense thriller, everything an espionage book should be. I'd highly recommend it as well as the two subsequent titles involving the lead character Philip Mangan and his struggles with Chinese intelligence. Suggest you read Night Heron first as the next titles Spy Games and The Spy's Daughter do continue some characters and themes from Night Heron. 5 stars from me for all three books!!

t
TJJ52
Sep 17, 2015

supsenseful look inside China and inside espionage.

ChristchurchLib Jul 13, 2014

"Twenty years after his imprisonment for protesting in Tiananmen Square, Chinese engineer Li Huasheng escapes the labour camp, eager to return to Beijing and pick up where he left off -- trading Chinese technology secrets to the U.K. in hopes of defecting. Once in the city, he coerces a former friend into releasing secret documents, then gives them to a British reporter with instructions to hand them to the British embassy. Which is when all hell breaks loose for both of them -- betrayals and double-crosses abound. Multiple narrators help sustain the tension, while fast-paced chase scenes and the plausible nature of the documents make this debut "compulsively readable" (Kirkus Reviews) and perfect for fans of Cold War thrillers looking for something a little more contemporary." Thrillers and Suspense July 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/2c47e9e5-d355-491f-87b1-c136ab375b01?postId=36471ee9-07d6-46ed-ba48-5fde3e03c300

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top