Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
10
2
Rate this:
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." -- VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.

* 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist
* Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
* NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
* Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016
* New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
* Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016
* Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
* ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
* Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
* Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
* Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017
* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016
* Junior Library Guild Selection
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart , and she tells their stories with compassion."-- Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."-- Booklist, starred

"Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning ."--PW

"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."-- VOYA

" Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring ." --Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
Publisher: Delacorte Press,, 2016.
ISBN: 9780553536768
0553536761
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
JCLCourtneyS Jan 30, 2017

You will like this book if you like getting to know great characters, or if you like relating to the lives of the characters in stories. You may like it less if, like me, you really enjoy a satisfying plot resolution. I felt like this one ended far too soon, but I enjoyed my short time with Lily ... Read More »

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth-grade. Norbert Dorfman, nicknamed Dunkin Dorfman, is bipolar and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen year... Read More »

We all need friends who know who we are and accept us. And help to make us brave.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
booknrrd
Sep 21, 2017

A 2018-2019 Missouri Truman Readers Award preliminary nominee (grades 6-8).

Tim and Dunkin first meet in the summer before 8th grade and they seem to hit it off but then school starts and popularity gets in the way. And they both have pretty big secrets. Tim was born with male anatomy but knows that she is meant to be a girl named Lily. Dunkin has bipolar disorder and doesn't always take his medicine. Can they find a way to be friends?

This is a sweet but sad book. Either character's story would have been enough for a novel on its own. Pairing them was an interesting choice. I'm not sure how successful it was. Great message about being true to your self.

a
Aqua1633
Jul 12, 2017

This book is great, I liked it because it told the story from both Lily and Dunkin's perspectives. There were some parts that were slow, and that I found boring, but you'll like it if you like books that have humor, but also have parts that are emotional.

l
LaurDiy6
Jun 06, 2017

I loved the book cuz i was sad, funny and great i stayed up all night till 12;00 to read it i red it twice

JCLCourtneyS Jan 30, 2017

You will like this book if you like getting to know great characters, or if you like relating to the lives of the characters in stories. You may like it less if, like me, you really enjoy a satisfying plot resolution. I felt like this one ended far too soon, but I enjoyed my short time with Lily and Dunkin nonetheless.

TSCPL_Anna Dec 04, 2016

I love that this book exists. Though I am thrilled there are more and more books being published for teens and early learners about transgender youth, this topic is scarcely found for middle grades, and this is the core audience that needs these supportive, educational novels. The same can also be said about books focusing on mental illness. Teens have a plethora of these, but children and tweens really don't, especially about bipolar disorder. But there is more to why I love that this book exists. Our main characters will make you think and feel deeper: Lily, who only her closest friends know is transgender, and Dunkin, who only his family knows he has bipolar disorder. The plot will make you cry at least a couple of times. This book will encourage you to question why society stigmatizes people for simply being born differently and to see everyone for who they feel they truly are.

katbee Nov 12, 2016

This book is amazing, I stayed up too late reading it. The author does a great job of getting in the minds of these characters and you just want to know what they are thinking. The way she tackles serious issues is very well written. I recommend it to everyone as a challenge to learn more about transgender and bipolar disorder.

l
LauraDA03
Sep 27, 2016

Lily and Dunkin gave powerful insight into two topics that rarely get discussed in Young Adult Literature. Bipolar disorder and transgender are not two topics you would expect to see in one book. However, Donna Gephart did a great job tying them together in two lovable characters. Lily was identified male at birth, given the name Timothy. She struggles with how to navigate 8th grade in the wrong body. Dunkin, given the name Norbert at birth, struggles with bipolar disorder and how to make friends at his new school. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book as it keeps the reader captivated throughout. I would highly encourage others to pick it up.

PinesandPrejudice Sep 27, 2016

What a wonderful story! Such delightful, honest, intriguing characters. Great for someone looking for a diverse read and to step into someone else's shoes for a while. And I love the friendship story presented here as well -- it's great to see such young kids care about each other.

AL_CATHERINE Sep 06, 2016

I started this one somewhat reluctantly because realistic fiction is usually not my thing but discovered I loved it! This book is super important! It offers a somewhat rare look at the struggles of two middle school kids, Lily, a transgender teen, and Dunkin, struggling with bipolar disorder. I loved their sweet and incredibly real stories and appreciated the author's endnotes about her inspirations. A great choice for parents of middle school teens looking for books on these subjects! It also has a fantastic resource list at the end!

j
joywolf83
Aug 06, 2016

Parrell accounts of two teenage boys. One is struggling to become transgender. The other is coping with bi polar issues. Both raises questions and challenges unique to them. Both stories intertwine, coming across as very realistic yet attainable outcomes. A difficult subject of LGBT youth but handled very well with individuality. Only complaint is that it does become overly long in middle. There are several parts that could have been omitted without sacrificing the story. Perphas they were included to connect stronger to the characters? I don't know. I skipped about 150 pages and it didn't feel like I missed a single thing.

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
booknrrd
Sep 21, 2017

booknrrd thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

green_alligator_9902 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top