One Small Thing

One Small Thing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
"Beth's life hasn't been the same since her sister died. Her parents try to lock her down, believing they can keep her safe by monitoring her every move. When Beth sneaks out to a party one night and meets the new guy in town, Chase, she's thrilled to make a secret friend. It seems like a small thing, just for her. Only Beth doesn't know how big her secret really is... Fresh out of juvie and determined to start his life over, Chase has demons to face and much to atone for, including his part in the night Beth's sister died. Beth, who has more reason than anyone to despise him, is willing to give him a second chance. A forbidden romance is the last thing either of them planned for senior year, but the more time they spend together, the deeper their feelings get. Now Beth has a choice to make--follow the rules, or risk tearing everything apart... again."--
Publisher: Toronto, Ontario :, Harlequin Teen,, [2018].
ISBN: 9781335017277
1335017275
Branch Call Number: TEEN FICTION Watt Erin 07/2018
Characteristics: 299 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Jess_library May 09, 2018

Beth feels trapped. Since her sister died, her lenient parents have turned into wardens and all she want to do is finish her senior year before escaping to college. One night of rebellious behavior leads to a hook-up with a stranger, and Beth's life becomes more complicated when Chase shows up in her classes on Monday morning. If that wasn't enough, it turns out that Chase isn't a stranger at all, he's the person who was sent to juvie for killing her sister.

Erin Watt delivers another emotionally wrenching teen novel about guilt, forgiveness and letting go. Beth's emotions are painfully real - the struggled between herself and her parents, the connection she feels with Chase and the alienation she gets from her peers for abstaining from bullying him - they all form a complex web that will draw the reader to Beth as she tries to figure out who she wants to be. The only thing that would have made this novel better would have been some alternating chapters from Chase's perspective. Great for fans of Katie McGarry or Simone Elkeles.

Age

Add Age Suitability
h
hwu164
Jul 28, 2018

hwu164 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top