A Gracious Plenty

A Gracious Plenty

Recipes and Recollections From the American South

Book - 1999
Rate this:
In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c1999.
ISBN: 9780399145346
0399145346
Branch Call Number: 641.5975 Edge 1999
Characteristics: xvii, 365 p. :,ill. ;,24 cm.
Additional Contributors: University of Mississippi

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top