Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams , a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury USA, c2000.
ISBN: 9781582340678
1582340676
Branch Call Number: FICTION Doxiades Apostolo 2000
Characteristics: 209 p. ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

johnf108 Oct 06, 2013

I'd seen many references to this book but put off reading it. A mistake.
Excellent novel about why people choose to do things [here solving a famous math problem], what the will do to accomplish their goal and how much they 'really' want it.

It also shines light on what people expect---fame, reputation, etc..

The book 'Wild Numbers' by Philibert Schogt dealt with some of the same issues as did 'Feynman's Rainbow' [true story] by
Leonard Mlodinow [an Evanston HS grad.]---this time by a physiics post-doc..

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top