Prozac Nation

Prozac Nation

Young and Depressed in America

Book - 1995
Average Rating:
2
2
1
Rate this:
"A book that became a cultural touchstone." -- The New Yorker

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar .
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Riverhead Books, c1995.
ISBN: 9781573225120
1573225126
Branch Call Number: 616.8527 Wurtzel
Characteristics: x, 368 p.;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

penpencil22 Jun 23, 2011

thoroughly exhausting to read, but definitely worth reading.

k
KimberleyAnna
Jun 09, 2010

I actually recommended the library order this book after I read More, Now, Again, also by Elizabeth Wurtzel.
I can't say I was absolutely pleased. Halfway through I decided this could be said to be "Poetic Whining." Though in many instances, I still understand the meaning of her reasons to write the way she did and am grateful for her honesty.

Quotes

Add a Quote

penpencil22 Jun 23, 2011

"Depression is such an uncharismatic disease"

penpencil22 Jun 23, 2011

"I never felt I had the right to be depressed. I always felt like: Really, if I wanted to, I could snap out of this."

Age

Add Age Suitability

k
KimberleyAnna
Jun 09, 2010

KimberleyAnna thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top